Oatville Elementary Receives National Honor

Haysville USD 261 Superintendent Dr. John Burke (left) and Oatville Elementary School Principal Shane Dent watched the computer monitor as they waited for the 2014 National Blue Ribbon School announcement to be streamed live from Washington, D.C.

(WASHINGTON, D.C., September 30, 2014) Haysville USD 261’s Oatville Elementary School was honored today as a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School in the “Exemplary High Performing” Category. Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized 337 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve to high levels.

The announcement was made live via the U.S. Department of Education’s USTREAM channel and was viewed by recognized principals, teachers, administrators and students assembled across the country.

“Oatville Elementary School’s staff strives every day to educate “Today’s Learners, Tomorrow’s Leaders” for lifelong success. This award is indicative of our continuing significant academic achievement over the years,” said Principal Shane Dent. “Oatville Elementary School staff, students, and parents can celebrate the 2014 National Blue Ribbon School Award and everyone’s dedication to student learning!”

Campus High School was named a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School in the “Exemplary Improving” Category.

“Haysville Public Schools are in an elite class of state school districts to have two National Blue Ribbon Schools honored in consecutive years,” said Dr. John Burke, Haysville Superintendent. “Oatville Elementary School’s dedication to students and learning was recognized when they were honored in the category of “Exemplary High Performing” schools.”

Haysville Board of Education President Susan Walston was thrilled with the announcement. “Oatville Elementary School has earned recognition on the state level as a recipient of the Governor’s Achievement Award for five years for being in the top 5 percent of Kansas schools in both reading and mathematics scores. The School District is so proud that the U.S. Department of Education presented Oatville with this prestigious national award.”

The Department will honor 287 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 10-11 in Washington, D.C. In its 32-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on just under 7,900 of America’s schools.

“These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education—that all students, no matter their name or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments,” Secretary Duncan said. “National Blue Ribbon Schools are models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts. We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

Categories: Schools


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.